Alumni, faculty among selected noted poets 

  Friday, April 6, 2018 2:00 AM
  Alumni, News

Pittsburg, KS

Alumni, faculty among selected noted poets 

Pittsburg State alumni whose work has been published alongside that of the Kansas Poet Laureate will return to campus on Thursday for a reading and workshop. They'll be joined by faculty and others from the PSU community whose work also was chosen for publication - a noteworthy accomplishment, said laura Lee Washburn, director of the PSU Creative Writing Program.

"It's an honor for faculty and alumni to be included in the anthology, which speaks to the quality of our program," Washburn said.   

The reading, part of the Distinguished Visiting Writer Series, has been planned for 8 p.m. in the Governors Room in the Overman Student Center. It is free and open to the public. A poetry writing workshop for high school and university students will be held at 6:30 p.m.  

The event will celebrate the release of "Kansas Time + Place: An Anthology of Heartland Poetry," which is published by Little Balkans Press and edited by Roy Beckemeyer and Kansas Poet Laureate Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg. The anthology is a collection by 86 Kansas poets published between 2014 and 2016 on Mirriam-Goldberg’s website, 150 Kansas Poems. 

It's particularly relevant, Washburn noted, as April is National Poetry Month.   

"I’m really excited to see the PSU community recognized and represented for their poetic talents in this volume," she said. "We’re so excited to host the reading on our campus and to welcome our alumni back."  

Chris Anderson, associate professor of creative writing, said that with more than 15 poets taking part, the event will be a "wonderful literary sampler platter of poetic voices and styles."  

"I'm thrilled to have so many Kansas poets — both old friends and new faces — gathering in one place for this event," Anderson said.   

Poets participating in the workshops and reading include PSU alumni and faculty, as well as others from around the state. Participating poets include Melissa Fite Johnson, Laura Lee Washburn, Lori Martin, Roy Beckemeyer, Cody Shrum, Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg, Sarah Chenoweth, Ronda Miller, Heather Mydosh, Tayler Kline-Shepard, Diane Wahto, Iris Carver, Jennifer White, Julie Ramon, J.T. Knoll, Kelly W. Johnston, and Michelle Pond.  

High school and university students may register for the workshop by emailing Washburn at  

Learn more about PSU's Creative Writing Program at